Mentors and Inventors

Internationally renowned thought leaders and experts join Australian International School in a series of lectures and round table discussions to inspire our community and students to achieve excellence. 

Thank you to the following figures for visiting AIS and inspiring all of us to achieve more:

The Arts

Australian singer

Isaiah Firebrace

Australian singer who won the eighth season of The X Factor Australia in 2016. He then represented Australia in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 with the song "Don't Come Easy", where he finished 9th.

Australian guitarist, songwriter, and singer

Tommy Emmanuel

Originally a session player in many bands, Emmanuel has carved out his own style as a solo artist in recent years, releasing award-winning albums and singles. In the May 2008 and 2010 issues of Guitar Player Magazine, he was named "Best Acoustic Guitarist" in their readers' poll. In June 2010 Emmanuel was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Australian Jazz singer

Tony Dee

Best known for his involvement with the ‘We’re TheSuperhumans’ campaign for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. Tony Dee (aka Tony Doevendans) is a Brisbane-born artist who loves simply putting a smile on people's faces (or sometimes a tear of nostalgia) with his swinging tunes and gentle love songs from the early jazz days to the 1950's and beyond.


Australian Footballer

Nicola Barr

Nicola Barr was drafted by Greater Western Sydney with the first overall selection in the 2016 AFL Women's draft. She played in all seven games, and was nominated for the AFL Women's Rising Star award after moving from midfield to half back late in the season. Greater Western Sydney signed Barr for the 2018 season during the trade period in May 2017.

Rugby union player

Dan Norton

Rugby union player for the England sevens national team. He is now the leading all-time try scorer rugby sevens, beating the previous record of 244 previously held by Kenya's Collins Injera at the 2017 Hong Kong Sevens tournament.


Engineer at Subnero, Singapore

Amy Gibson

Amy recently completed her degree at Singapore University of Technology and Design and now works for Subnero, a Singapore company that specialises in underwater engineering. She shared insights into her career path, all the way from which subjects inspired her at school to how relevant STEM education is in any field. This is particularly relevant for International Women’s Day this month.

American cartoonist, producer and author

Jeff Kinney

American cartoonist, producer and author of children's books, including the Diary of a Wimpy Kid book series. The first Diary of a Wimpy Kid book was published in 2007 and became an instant bestseller. Just a year later, more than 100,000 copies were in print in the United States alone. With each subsequent book, in-print numbers continue to grow exponentially both in the U.S. and abroad. There are now more than 194 million copies of the series in print worldwide.

Nobel Laureate for Economics

Professor Robert F. Engle III

Prof. Robert Fry Engle III is a 2003 Nobel Laureate for Economics and the Michael Armellino Professor of Finance at New York University’s Stern School of Business. He developed improved mathematical techniques for the evaluation and more-accurate forecasting of risk which have become essential tools of modern asset pricing theory and practice. Read about Professor Robert's visit to AIS here.

Nobel Laureate for Chemistry

Dr Peter Agre

Dr Peter Agre is a Professor of Biological Chemistry and Professor of Medicine at the John Hopkins University School of Medicine as well as the Director of the John Hopkins Malaria Research Institute at the Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore who was awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for the studies he began in the late 1980s concerning channels in cell membranes. Read about his profile here.


Professor Michelle Simmons

Professor Simmons was named as the 2018 Australian of the Year in January. She is an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow & Director of the Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology based at the University of New South Wales. Her pioneering research has resulted in her being awarded numerous accolades including Pawsey Medal (2006) and Lyle Medal (2015) from the Australian Academy of Science for outstanding research in physics. She is just one of a handful of researchers in Australia to have twice received a Federation Fellowship and now a Laureate Fellowship, the Australian Research Council’s most prestigious award of this kind.

Research Astronomer

Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith

Professor Lisa Harvey-Smith is the Research Astronomer at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) in Australia. She is concurrently an adjunct professor at Western Sydney University, and an adjunct associate professor at the University of New South Wales. She holds a Master of Physics in Astronomy and Astrophysics from Newcastle University, and a PhD in Astrophysics from the University of Manchester.